Heine replica

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Heine replica

I'm a novice at propeller making but thought that I would show a few photos of my 3rd under way.

Each of these has been an airworthy copy of an original Heine prop for the high compression Daimler-Mercedes DIIIau motor as used in the Fokker D VII. While there are drawings around for a D VII prop made by Axial, apparently this propeller is preferred by 2 out of 3 Mercedes engine D VII owners.

The prop is 2.8m in length (110 inches) with a pitch of 2.1m.

The first propeller was all mahogany in 8 laminations as is my original. The current one has (back to front) 4 layers of mahogany, ash, mahogany and two layers of ash.

Regards
    John

Nice work. As much as I hate to see replicas replace the originals, it's always nice to see one well done, and airworthy.
    Dave

Comment

If anyone is interested, here's a photo of the final.

I'm 6' 0" for comparison.

Regards
      John

Comment

replica propeller

Hi John,

I think I saw a similar thread about your propellers on The Aerodrome. If I did not reply to your thread there I want to take this opportunity to let you know how absolutely impressive your efforts are! You say that you are a novice, which I am sure you are but your work is absolutely outstanding, and I am sure that professional propeller makers, if there are such craftsmen out there would agree. Building replica propellers, aeroplanes and other similar components is a lost art to a large extent, but efforts such as yours are very important in terms of keeping these skills current and reviving them where possible.