Need help with my Lang Prop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with my Lang Prop

HI everyone, I have a Lang prop circa 1918 or so. It is 94 and 3/4 inches long, hub diameter is 7.5 inches, center bore measures 2.75, and the hub thickness is 4 7/8 inches. The number by the hub plate on the front is stamped 58259 and is preceded by the letters SO which are not stamped but appear to be maybe burned in. Also there is the number A7 above the SO # with a mark like an upward pointed arrow (See Pictures).
    After reviewing your chart of hub dimensions the best matches seem to be the 110 hp or the 130 hp Clerget engine, or possibly the Gnome 100 or 160.
    Family lore has that my great uncle Newton flew in WWI and returned from France with it.
    I have attached pictures, (I hope), I am new to this type of thing. I am interested in any help I can get as to the possible aircraft it was used on and value. Thanks in advance.
    Attached Files

Could the "SO" actually be "SC"? It may be a Signal Corps number.

You need to measure the bolt hole circle. See this link.

It's possible that it went to France and then came back again, but it's more likely that it was manufactured here in the U.S. and sold as surplus in the early to mid twenties. There's no way to be sure. The only U.S. built airplane to see combat was the DH4, but this doesn't look like a fit for that.
    Dave

Comment

Hi dave, thanks for getting to me. I just measured the bolt circle at 5 and 7/8 inches.

Comment

Your prop dates from Summer to Autumn of 1917. By late 1917 a different decal was used by Lang. The diameter suggests a Hispano-Suiza 180hp engine which was used on the early SPAD scouts used by the USAS in France.

With kind regards,

Bob
        Bob Gardner
        Author; WW1 British Propellers, WWI German Propellers
        http://www.aeroclocks.com

Comment

Need help with my Lang Prop